Talk:Bladebreaker Armor (5e Equipment)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Why would someone even want to break a weapon against a creature you are fighting, when instead you can loot it when you kill the creature? The armor's effect rarely occurs, but when it does it can leave certain creatures defenseless which is not balanced either because it can break certain encounters. Also, you would have to state that this equipment breaks the conventional rules for combat(see the PHB page 194 were it has info on what happens when you roll a natural 1).--Blobby383b (talk) 12:28, 24 September 2017 (MDT)

I don't see the problem. A creature attacks you with a sword. It rolls a 1. It misses (per the rules), and the weapon is broken. A "miss" doesn't necessarily mean an attack doesn't connect: it can mean the weapon doesn't penetrate the armor.
I don't understand the arguments given above about looting and being defenseless. Marasmusine (talk) 11:28, 16 October 2017 (MDT)
So then a miss does not always correlate to breaking a weapon because you do not always hit and not break through armor.
Why would you want to break a magical weapon, which generally can not be broken any way? Also, would the magical weapon be broken per this armor's description or would it not? The defenseless part is that breaking certain creature's weapons leaves them with no weapons aka making them defenseless. Some examples include the dryad, balor, and ogre zombie.--Blobby383b (talk) 11:59, 16 October 2017 (MDT)
In the end, the armor is fine as long as it can not break non-magical armor.--Blobby383b (talk) 16:23, 18 October 2017 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!