Talk:Steadfast Hold (5e Equipment)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Wording of This Shield[edit]

Looking back at it, I did mess up the wording of the item a bit, however the recent changes to revert some of the wording on this item have caused a few problems which I will try and explain.

  • Wording on AC. The "The wielder of this shield gains 4 AC." wording allows the wielder of this shield to automatically gain a bonus to a +4 bonus to AC. A passive bonus to AC is much stronger than giving a bonus to AC only while holding that item. This can be seen by the fact that the +3 shield and the +2 armor being the same rarity(very rare). Hence, this item should either passively give +3 AC or only give +4 AC while held.
  • Recovering Charges. Magical items draw upon their own powers to regain use of their properties. Hence, all magical items regain a certain amount of charges and their uses of certain properties at dawn or after a certain amount of days. This is based on the precedent set by WotC for magical items. See these for an example of how a magical item's properties are recharged figurine of wondrous power, wand of lightning bolts, and staff of thunder and lightning. In addition to that, the "per long/short rest" wording is not used in 5e and is considered too vague due to it not explaining when you would regain use of the property. The correct wording for something like that would be "you regain use of this x after you finish a short or long rest".--Blobby383b (talk) 22:14, 3 October 2019 (MDT)

The wording means exactly what it is supposed to mean[edit]

The way I have used the wording of this shield, is very very specific. To wield the shield is not to hold simply have it, or to hold it, to wield is to actively make use of, which is holding and deliberately using in the act of defending from attacks.

The shield recharges based on the wielder taking a long rest. It is written quite simply, meaning quite easily understandably: Long rest > Up to three uses > Long rest. This is a descriptor I have been using in my D&D games as both player and DM for a long time with no issue. A lot of this is to take into account more in-depth games of D&D such as a large number of people I play games with use, in which a lot more specification is required, but it still suffices perfectly fine for regular D&D use. As with all items, individual preference of both player and DM will always override specific terminologies, and I'd rather avoid a large scale argument regarding creative interpretation.—The preceding unsigned comment was added by Leytra (talkcontribs) . Please sign your posts.

If the wording for the AC was very specific, I shouldn't have gotten confused over its effect. Also, if I got confused, it is likely that other users who read this item will get confused over its wording. Hence, the wording should be changed back as the current wording of the AC isn't clear at a glance and does not use the wording most other items use.
On the long rest wording, it is perfectly fine to use whatever wording you want on your personal homebrew, but on the wiki you should try and make your homebrew follow the precedents set by WotC as if ever user had their own precedents for how things should be done, things would be a complete mess. Pretty much always a player's or DM's preferences do not override the rules established by WotC. On top of that, I also said above that items can not have their charges recharge on a long rest, and I am unsure why you reverted the changes with my explanation.--Blobby383b (talk) 11:13, 9 October 2019 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!