Talk:Spin Attack (5e Spell)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

How does the 2 action casting time work?

Do you take the "cast a spell" action this turn and also next turn? Would you have to maintain your concentration? Marasmusine (talk) 01:54, 3 March 2017 (MST)

Yes and yes. As stated in the Player's Guide pg. 202, "When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over." I know a casting time of '2 actions' is unconventional, but it seemed better than the equivalent 12 seconds.
Coincidentally, the spell is intended so you can begin casting it one turn, then decide whether or not you will finish it the next turn with no penalty other than a wasted action. That seems to be the intention of the rules for long cast times. — Guy (talk | edits) 02:59, 3 March 2017 (MST)
Would be surprised if you didn't still lose the slot though. You do for readied spells. Knowlessman (talk) 04:24, 29 March 2017 (UTC)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors