Talk:Partial Armor (5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

I love this mess. It looks like blatantly overpowered screwery until you actually start trying to make it overpowered, at which point it just becomes an hilarious exercise in trying to figure out whether you're making a profit or a loss.
I take it that the intended effect is, if you stack up partial armor but have a high Dex, "you count as wearing medium armor" means your maximum bonus from Dex drops to 2? Knowlessman (talk) 23:57, 21 August 2017 (MDT)

That's correct. I think in the best case you get an extra +1 AC compared to what you could normally have (or +2 but with Stealth disadvantage).
A rogue, monk, wizard etc. can only wear one piece, or else they suffer the penalties for not having medium/heavy armor proficiency.
At the other end, a fighter or paladin wearing light armor would have to wear partial armor totaling +6 AC to get the equivalent of plate armor. This shouldn't be possible with medium partial armor alone. Maybe partial armors should be explicit in what body part they cover, and we limit the number of body slots: e.g. head, arm, torso. Marasmusine (talk) 02:54, 22 August 2017 (MDT)
Wait, why should the shoulder guard conflict with the gauntlets? Should we bump the limit to 4, or just say "only up to 3 pieces" and not make it an issue of slots? I think we can trust DM's to not let people wear two helmets and to use their own judgment on whether to allow two shoulder guards on the same character/leather belt with spongia/so on. Knowlessman (talk) 10:26, 22 August 2017 (MDT)

the rule variant prevents itself from working.[edit]

long story short, if wearing 2 items, you can not gain benefits from either according to the fact you count as wearing medium or heavy then, and in doing so, would lose the benefit of both items.

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


Advertisements: