Talk:Powerful Charger (3.5e Feat)
From D&D Wiki
This feat is essentially Spirited Charge for those who do not use mounts.
- The sentence on multipliers needs changing: Neither spears nor lances deal double damage when you charge (lances deal x2 damage when your mount charges, spears deal x2 damage when readied against a charging character), and the basic rules already state what happens when multipliers combine. Marasmusine (talk) 13:41, 29 September 2013 (MDT)
- Oh. Something very similar is at Furious Charge (3.5e Feat). We probably don't need both. Marasmusine (talk) 14:42, 29 September 2013 (MDT)
Marasmusine, your link for Furious Charge doesn't work, so clearly we do need this feat since your other one currently doesn't exist. Also, you missed the fact that this states the only similarities are multipliers. The reason for RE-stating how it works in line with the basic rules are because so many people keep forgetting the basic multiplication rules of this game. Arkrim (talk) 03:22, 28 Dec 2014 (MDT)
- Yes, it was deleted. I'll quote verbatim the talk page for Furious Charge:
<quote> This is just a more poorly written version of Powerful Charger and the balance is overpowered since it functions both on AND off mounts. With such a feat, Spirited Charge becomes less useful since it only applies to mounts. [22.214.171.124]
- Plus it is mechanically inappropriate. Lances get a x2 on a mounted charge because you can brace the weapon. Spears get x2 on a received charge because you can brace the weapon. If you use Furious Charge with a slashing or flexible weapon you can't really say you are bracing.
- Secondly, there's already a feat called Furious Charge.
- Thirdly, extra damage on a charge is already covered by the Powerful Charge feat. Marasmusine (talk) 15:17, 26 October 2013 (MDT)
Actually, if you'd read this feat more clearly you'd see that it's for off-mount charges and you forgo your normal +2 to attack for charging making it WEAKER than Spirited Charge (but more useful for those who fight in close-quarters and can't use mounts). However, if you think there is another feat that provides the exact same benefits, please feel free to link it to me. I don't want to have redundant feats. And thanks for not deleting this before I had a chance to respond. That's far more civil than you usually are and I do appreciate it. Thank you. -Arkrim