Staff of the Arch Magus (5e Equipment)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Scales.png This page is of questionable balance. Reason: Why does this staff have 900 charges that it regains at dawn if each tier 3 spell only takes 21 charges? You could use this staff to cast 42 tier 3 spells before running out of charges.


You can help D&D Wiki by better balancing the mechanics of this page. When the mechanics have been changed so that this template is no longer applicable please remove this template. If you do not understand balance please leave comments on this page's talk page before making any edits.
Edit this Page | All pages needing balance

This content deviates from 5e standards. Its use could dramatically alter campaigns, take extreme care. DesignDisclaimer.png
Caution - Here there be monsters!
LookClosely.png
This content intends to provide a different experience, or goes beyond the scope of the anticipated subjects and situations, than the 5e rules were intended to handle. Some portions of the content below may not be what you expect from traditional game content. When implementing this content, DMs and Players should read over all the information carefully, and consider the following specific notes of interest:
This magic weapon uses rules from Epic Legacy Core Rulebook published by 2Cgaming.[1]

Weapon (Quarterstaff), artifact (Requires attunement by a spellcaster of any kind.)

This staff was created by the archmage Ibras Olostrea to make his high-level magic easier to cast. It is an adamantium staff that is visibly pulsing with magical power. (this staff is meant to be used with the epic legacy core rulebook)
Random Properties. The Staff of the archmagus has the following random properties:

  • 4 minor beneficial properties
  • 2 major beneficial properties
  • 4 minor detrimental properties
  • 2 major detrimental properties

Spell Siphon. This staff has 900 charges and regains all charges at dawn. You may use these charges to cast spells that you have prepared. The amount of charges consumed is equal to the spell's level (21 charges for tier 3 epic magic, 15 for tier 2, and 11 for tier 1).

Spell Absorption. You may use your reaction to absorb a spell, regaining a number of charges equal to the spell's level. if this effect raises the total amount of charges in the staff above 900 it instead becomes 900.

Archmage's Mastery. This staff's random detrimental properties do not apply if it is attuned to a 20th level wizard. Additionally, if a 20th level

Magic Weapon. This staff counts as a +5 quarterstaff and increases the user's spell save dc and spell attack by 10 each. Additionally, when a 20th level wizard uses the Spell Absorption feature, they gain their reaction back as soon as the spell is absorbed.


Destroying the Staff of the archmagus. This staff can only be destroyed as a result of an Ultimate Sphere of Destruction spell.


Back to Main Page5e HomebrewEquipmentArtifacts

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


Advertisements: