SRD Talk:Grapple

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

1.4.2 Attacking[edit]

I'm fleshing out an idea for a character who uses Natural Weapons. I have several Feats lined up to do a considerable amount of damage. I'm interested in the possibility of grappling my opponent, thereby reducing their AC, and unleashing my attacks on them.

When I have my opponent in a grapple and I motion to strike them, can I make a Full-Attack? That aspect is important because I'm interested in supplementing this with Attack Focus, but if it's merely a Standard Action to attack, then obviously things change quite a bit.

The reason I'm asking is because it states:

"If your base attack bonus allows you multiple attacks, you can attempt one of these actions in place of each of your attacks, but at successively lower base attack bonuses."

This tells me that yes, you can use your full BAB, therefore yes you can make a Full-Action or a Full-Attack while maintaining a Grapple.

However, I thought the rules were that in order to maintain a Grapple, you must use a Standard Action? There's a Feat to allow this to be reduced to a Move Action - Thereby allowing you either two Grapple Checks per Round, or a Check and a single action (Such as Pinning, re-positioning, or a single attack).

Going back to "If your base attack bonus allows you multiple attacks, you can attempt...", doesn't that imply that you CAN actually make a Full-Attack?

The only thing you need to do to maintain the grapple is be in the same square as the target (and you get to move into that square as a free action). I'd like to see the wording on that feat.
If your BAB lets you get three iterative attacks as a full attack, then you can make three grapple attempts, or "damage your opponent" three times.
I briefly ran a grapple-themed fighter (wow, 10 years ago now) and he did seem particularly deadly. Marasmusine (talk) 12:20, 9 July 2014 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!