SRD Talk:Blackguard

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Tower shield prof.[edit]

I noticed that it dosnt mention if Blackguards are Prof. with them or not. most classes state if theres an exception or not. should i just assume that they are? --Tug 19:30, 5 August 2008 (MDT)

You should assume he is not proficient. Prestige classes usually do not give new weapon/armor proficiencies. You get those from your base class. Plus Blackguards are way cooler armed with a big ass weapon like Stormbrand, Chaosbringer, or even an Unholy Greataxe (ie. no shield at all). --Aarnott 08:56, 8 August 2008 (MDT)

About blackguard/ex-paladin[edit]

I notice a "hole" in the blackguard character with some levels in ex-paladin, and i have few questions:

1st the power of the smite evil is calculated with the levels of blackguard and ex-paladin or only the level of the blackguard?

2nd the power of Lay of hands is calculated with both levels of blackguard and ex-palain or only the level of the blackguard?

Hope can help me with this.Thank you

Well with the Smite Evil question, the Blackguard gets Smite Good not smite evil and they only gain additional uses of it, following all the same rules as listed in the class description. As for the other question I would have to rule that you would use only your blackguard levels, and notice that it states that it can only be use once per day. So it would be an all or nothing healing. -Sarrow 22:10, 26 February 2009 (MST)

Oh thank you, and sorry i was mean smite good, and the question for Lay of hands was cuz the book says only his level, not even class level or character level. Thanks for anwser soon...

No problem, I am just glad that I could help. -Sarrow 22:26, 27 February 2009 (MST)


Ex-Blackguard[edit]

You have to be evil to become a Blackguard, sure. But are there any rules that state that you lose your special abilities once you become neutral or good? As I see it you not only keep your class Features but you are also able to gain new Blackguard levels even as a good character.

Blackguard Base Class[edit]

Is there a way to turn the Blackguard Prestige class into a Base class?--63.142.67.85 14:26, 19 September 2015 (MDT)

You could simply work out with your DM that, as you level up in Paladin, you get the abilities listed at the fallen paladin section, instead of the paladin's abilities (which you would lose due to being an Ex-Paladin). Then level into Blackguard as soon as you can. It might work out a bit iffily and underpowered, though, so tweaking might be in order. --SgtLion (talk) 01:42, 20 September 2015 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors