Non-Automatic Hit Crits (5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

By default, a critical hit is automatic hit. There, it's more expanded.

If your weapon deals critical hit (Nat 20), you make another roll for same target, to determine how critical hit it ends up:

  • If roll plus modifiers is lower than target's AC, you merely managed to hit the target. Damage is normal. There, Nat 1 is not automatic failure, as long as you have enough bonuses.
  • If roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), you get a critical hit. Damage is doubled.
  • If roll is Nat 20, you got a super-critical-hit. Damage is quadrupled.

Back to Main Page5e HomebrewRules