Damaging Psychic Shields (3.5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
This material is published under the OGL 1.0a.

Damaging Psychic Shields[edit]

A powerful psychic shield can be a difficult obstacle for even a skilled psychic to overcome. In addition to using extra effort to overcome a psychic shield (see page 195), it is possible for a psychic attacker to directly damage or drain a psychic shield in order to weaken it.

An attacker using the Psychic Blast or Psychic Weapon skills can choose to target an opponent’s psychic shield rather than attacking the opponent directly. The target of the attack saves against it normally, but without the bonus of the psychic shield. If the save fails, the damage dealt by the attacking skill is subtracted from the defender’s Psychic Shield bonus rather than dealing nonlethal or hit point damage to the target. The psychic shield operates at the reduced bonus until it recovers.

A damaged psychic shield recovers one point of its bonus per minute (10 rounds) until it is restored to normal. Effects that restore hit points or eliminate nonlethal damage (including the Psychic Healing skill) can be used to restore a damaged psychic shield as well; each point of damage healed restores one point of the shield’s bonus.

Back to Main Page3.5e HomebrewRulesPsychic PowersAdvanced Psychic Techniques

Open Game Content (Padlock.pngplace problems on the discussion page).
Stop hand.png This is Open Game Content from Advanced Player's Manual. It is covered by the Open Game License v1.0a, rather than the GNU Free Documentation License 1.3. To distinguish it, these items will have this notice. If you see any page that contains OGC from Advanced Player's Manual material and does not show this license statement, please contact an admin so that this license statement can be added. It is our intent to work within this license in good faith.
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!