Wilderness Shape (5e Class Feature)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Wilderness Shape[edit]

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a plant entity that you have seen before. When you take form of a plant, it is as if you cast Awaken on yourself, as that plant entity. You have the ability to move your limbs, roots, vines, creepers, and so forth. In Plant form, you can voluntarily drop nuts, fruit, or seeds, but not branches. You can also shed your leaves. You also retain senses similar to a human. You can use this feature twice. You regain expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Your druid level determines the beasts you can transform into, as shown in the Entity Table. At second level, for example, you can transform into any Plant Entity that has a challenge rating of 1/4 or lower that doesn't have a flying or swimming speed.


You can stay in entity shape for a number of hours equal to half your Druid level, rounded down. You then revert to your normal form unless you expend another use of this feature. Youcan revert to your normal form earlier by using a bonus action on your turn. You automatically revert if you fall on conscience, drop to 0 hit points, or die.

While you are transformed, the following rules apply:

  • Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the entity, but you retain your alignment, personality, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the Creature. If the creature had the same proficiency as you and the bonus and its step block is higher than yours, use the creatures bonus instead of yours. If the creature has any legendary or Lair actions, you cannot use them.
  • When you transform, who assume the hit points and hit dice of the Entity. When you revert to your normal form, you return to the number of hit points you had before you transformed. However, if you revert as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form. For example, if you take 10 damage in plant form and have only one hit point left, you revert and 9 damage. As long as the excess damage does not reduce your normal form to 0 hit points, you are not knocked unconscious.
  • You cannot cast spells, and your ability to take action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your Entity form. Transforming does not break your concentration on a spell you have already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell, such as call lightning, that you have already cast.
  • You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. However, you cannot use any of your special Senses, such as dark vision, unless your new form also has that sense.
  • You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the DM decides whether it is practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based on the size and shape of the creature. Your equipment does not change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form cannot wear must either fall to the ground or merge with it. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.




Back to Main Page5e HomebrewCharacter OptionsClass Features

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system ref. documents


admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors