Transfer Enchantment (3.5e Spell)
From D&D Wiki
|Level:||Bard 3, Cleric 5, Sorcerer/Wizard 4, Artificer 3|
|Casting time:||10 minutes|
|Targets, or Effect:||Two Objects|
|Duration:||Permanent (see text)|
|Saving Throw:||Will (harmless; see text)|
In a ritual that takes a full ten minutes to complete (which cannot be rushed by any means; attempting to do so wastes the spell and has no effect), you transfer the enchantments of one magic item into the vessel of another. If both targeted objects are enchanted, the ritual instead swaps their enchantments. The following rules apply for purposes of determining what qualifies for the transfer:
- The two objects must be compatible as far as the enchantments are considered. For example, it's entirely possible to transfer the enchantment of a ring of resistance to a cloak since cloaks are known to hold such bonuses, but attempting to transfer an absorbing shield into a suit of masterwork chainmail would fail. DM's discretion and common sense applies.
- The receiving vessel must be of masterwork quality or otherwise prepared to receive an enchantment.
- Only magical enhancements are transfered. Properties derived from the mundane nature or special materials of the objects are unaffected. So attempting to transfer a +1 adamantine longsword into a masterwork bastard sword would only transfer the +1 enhancement bonus, with the latter becoming a +1 bastard sword and the former becoming a masterwork adamantine longsword.
- Exceptionally powerful items are immune to the spell. Examples include artifacts, named relics, epic items (though an epic version of the spell that can affect epic items is certainly possible), or anything else the DM deems invalid for story reasons.
- Sentient items not covered by the fourth rule receive a Will saving throw to resist the transfer if it is unwilling. If the item chooses to resist the ritual, it will also treat the caster with hostility, forcing a test of egos.
If the spell is interrupted, there is a 20% chance that the enchantments are permanently destroyed in the process.
'Note to DMs'
Transfer enchantment is not intended to be an offensive spell, and players attempting to use it to intentionally destroy an enchantment should see their attempt fail completely. The consequences of having the ritual interrupted and the long casting time exist purely to encourage players to perform the ritual in a place of safety so as to keep them from trying to steal the enchantments from an enemy and to avoid it interrupting an adventure in the heat of the moment.
When it comes down to it, this spell is simply a way for players to customize the look and feel of their equipment. It would have been a lot easier to be able to just say that, but players can be a pedantic and unpredictable lot, hence the more detailed rules (and possible consequences)!
Back to Main Page → 3.5e Homebrew → Complex Special Ability Components → Spells → Sorcerer/Wizard