Talk:Master Arcanist (3.5e Prestige Class)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Rating - 8/10[edit]

I gave it 6/10 because while the class concept is good (i've had a similar idea in my head for some time) a lot of its class features are wasted. You'll never be able to fuse spells above 6th level unless you go epic (Sor 8/ Wiz 7/Master Arc 5 equals Sor 13/Wiz 12, 6th level spells). If you max one class (Wiz 10/ Sor 5/ Master Arc 5 equals Wiz 15/Sor 10) it is fused up to 5th level only. Even going 10 levels will only get you 7th-level spells.--Zaq 01:18, 31 October 2007 (MDT)

I'm not sure that I follow you (maybe you misread the entry requirements?). You need 2nd level spells in 2 arcane classes. Assuming Wiz/Sorc, that's Wiz 3/Sor 4. 5 levels of Master Arcanist takes you to 12th level as the equivalent of Wiz 8/Sor 9, giving 4th level spells (actually, one level short of 5th). Continuing as a Sorcerer, you're 3 levels behind a straight Sorc (the 3 you spent on Wizard), giving 8th level spells at 19th level and 9th level spells as soon as you hit Epic (21st). --Findail 11:13, 31 October 2007 (MDT)
Yes, but you won't get fused 9th-level spells. You'll only fuse up to 4th, so the rest of the class features are wasted unless you epic.--Zaq 18:43, 31 October 2007 (MDT)
Never mind. I get it now. From that point, fusion allows you to scribe spells beyond your effective wizard level and you can add to sorcerer spells known by using spell mastery. Rating 8/10 then.--Zaq 19:47, 31 October 2007 (MDT)


This class doesn't seem to work well with theurgic spellcasting classes like Ultimate Magus or Arcane Savant. It seems using either of those classes could generate extremely high DC's using the Arcane Fusion abilities of this class. A basic Wiz 3/Sor 1/Ultimate Magus 10/Master Arcanist 5 (with +0 int bonus, for ease's sake) would be casting spells with DC's of 29. Compare this to a Wiz 20, who would be casting at DC 20. The disparity gets larger as you go up in Epic levels utilizing theurgic arcane classes. --Othtim 14:21, 5 March 2008 (MST)

I presume you meant "caster level" rather than "DC" (the save DC of any spell is 10 plus the spell level plus the ability modifier, and Arcane Fusion won't change that). Yes, I hadn't anticipated that: I originally designed this class before the Ultimate Magus came out. It seems to be a straightforward fix, however: I'll expand the "no double-counting" rule to cover any other classes the character might have that allow dual advancement in two arcane classes simultaneously. --Findail 16:35, 13 March 2008 (MDT)

How would this class work with special skills, like the warmage's armored mage and warmage edge or the Wu Jen's spell secret ?

                                             20/02/2011 11:39 Alex

Using the term Arcane Fusion for the class doesn't fit well with the spell Arcane Fusion given they don't have the same intent and mechanics - Arcane Consolidation


This class isn't that attractive (to me, anyways) compared to a theurgic progression like Ultimate Magus or Arcane Savant. What would make a person want to take this class as opposed to a say, Wiz 3/Sor 1/Ultimate Magus 10/Arcane Savant 6? They could then use Practiced Spellcaster to get to Wiz 19/Sor 19 caster levels, and they keep all their spells per day from both casting classes. What would attract someone to this class? Do you have some comments Findail? Also, nice to see you back. I was hoping you'd come around again to revisit this class...I like the idea, it would be nice to see it fleshed out/flavoured out a bit more :D --Othtim 19:22, 13 March 2008 (MDT)

...Well, I can see two advantages. Firstly, it's only 5 levels: so the character could maybe fit in another PrC before 20th (or most of one, like maybe 8 levels of Loremaster or whatever). For instance, a Wiz 3/ Sor 2 could qualify for Mage of the Arcane Order, advancing Sorcerer spells for a couple of levels to make Master Arcanist and then taking MA levels only when needed to extend Arcane Fusion to his/her highest level spells: both PrC's could be completed by 20th. Secondly, the character could gain access to the spell lists of other arcane classes by taking one level in the class (e.g. eventually gaining all Bard spells with one level of Bard). In particular, I had this in mind when I wrote the Arcane Adept feat: Heal as a 5th level spell could be quite useful. --Findail 14:37, 16 March 2008 (MDT)
Good point on accessing all Bard spells with one level of Bard. It's a fairly specialized class, I can't ever see it being extremely popular. But it's useful in certain situtations for certain builds, I'll agree with that. --Othtim 16:40, 16 March 2008 (MDT)
!!!REMOVE THIS FIRST LINE OF THIS PAGE BEFORE YOU SAVE!!!    (i.e. the "nowiki" tag)


Power - <<<5/5 I give this class a <<<5>>> out of 5 because <<<it's a very good powerful class.>>> -- 21:27, 24 April 2008 (MDT)

Wording - <<<4>>>/5 I give this class a <<4>>> out of 5 because <<<the wording is ok.>>> -- 21:27, 24 April 2008 (MDT)

Formatting - <<<Insert Your Rating Here>>>/5 I give this class a <<<Insert Your Rating Here>>> out of 5 because <<<insert why you gave the rating and how to improve it>>> -- 21:27, 24 April 2008 (MDT)

Flavor - <<<Insert Your Rating Here>>>/5 I give this class a <<<Insert Your Rating Here>>> out of 5 because <<<insert why you gave the rating and how to improve it>>> -- 21:27, 24 April 2008 (MDT)

Spellbook for spontaneous classes[edit]

How/why would a character with only spontaneous caster levels end up with a spellbook?

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!