Talk:Book of 3.5e Tricks (3.5e Other)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Illusory walls[edit]

Make a wall out of fire. They're not going to touch it to figure out if it's real or not, so they don't actually get a save. Surgo 16:06, 19 October 2008 (MDT)

Go ahead and add that! This page is meant to be a collaboration (which is why I never put the author template). Just sign your contributions. --Aarnott 17:18, 19 October 2008 (MDT)

Spiked Chain Combo[edit]

You can't trip characters with the AoO you get from their rising. The AoO triggers before the stand-up finishes. Surgo 22:17, 24 October 2008 (MDT)
I believe the more regarded version is using Thicket of Blades to stop them if they try to move. --TK-Squared 23:50, 24 October 2008 (MDT)
It is open to DM discretion, as they could rule that you get an AoO as they stand up of afterwards and there is no "Concentration check" to fail standing up. As for Thicket of Blades, this strategy only requires PH1 (a core book). -GaaaaaH
Custserv has clarified in the past that the AoO is triggered before the actual standing up. Surgo 20:44, 28 October 2008 (MDT)
But a DM can still say that you can make a trip attempt in order to keep them down - GaaaaaH
The DM could also let you find the Wand of Orcus at level 1. I thought this was a discussion of actual rules, not "the DM lets me do it". Surgo 08:13, 29 October 2008 (MDT)
(Moved to talk page) This isn't "the DM lets me do it", it is how the DM can interpret the actual rules. Even with an external clarification that AoOs are triggered before standing up is completed an attempt could still be made to ensure that they stay prone and still be within the rules. - GaaaaaH
Custserv has explicitly stated (with a "no") that you cannot retrip with your AoO you get from standing up, for the reason I have already stated. The question "can you retrip?" has been asked to them, and the answer has come back "no, because...". This is about as "the DM lets me do it" as you can get. Surgo 19:58, 29 October 2008 (MDT)

Fire seeds[edit]

I believe the spell states that the damage is 1d8 + 1 per caster level. I don't understand how the damage rolls are being figured, for example: "24d6 + 264" Jwguy 07:44, 12 February 2010 (UTC)

Each seed does 1d8+11. There are eight of them, hence 8d8+88. If you have three slots dedicated, you can multiply by three. 24d8+264. -- 16:53, 14 April 2011 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system ref. documents

admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors