SRD Talk:Spiked Chain

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Damage Wrong[edit]

I'm pretty sure it does 2d4 at medium size (either that or the equipment table is wrong). --Aarnott 19:53, 24 July 2007 (MDT)

You are correct, sir. A spiked chain does 1d6 damage when small and 2d4 when medium according to the PHB v3.5, and has not been modified by the currently available errata from Wizards. --Rakankou 20:03, 24 July 2007 (MDT)

Double Weapon?[edit]

according to one of my friends, this is also a double weapon. can anyone confirm this? Zau 14:39, 20 May 2008 (MDT)

According to the PHB, they are wrong. --Ganre 15:11, 20 May 2008 (MDT)
You're friend may be thinking of a 3.0 PrC called "master of chains" in Sword and Fist (I think that's right), and one of class features was to be able treat the spiked chain as a double weapon. Also, the picture in the PHB looks like it would be a double weapon. —Sledged (talk) 15:20, 20 May 2008 (MDT)
Wow, i forgot about Master of Chains, a cool point for Sledged on that.--Ganre 19:56, 20 May 2008 (MDT)

Masterwork[edit]

Why is the listed Masterwork Steel price only 50 gp? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Klomag (talkcontribs)2008-11-10 19:11. Please sign your posts.

Excellent question! More than likely an error on my part. —Sledged (talk 20:27, 10 November 2008 (MST)

Cost[edit]

The formula given is "+ bonus × bonus × 20,000 gp", but the examples seem to indicate that the real formula is "+ bonus × bonus × 2,000 gp" (one zero less). Is it a typo? --Taw

No. That;'s how it works in epic. --TK-Squared 10:45, 29 July 2009 (MDT)
So a +10 costs an extra 200,000 gp, but a +11 piece of equipment costs an extra 2,420,000 gp?

Damage Cap?[edit]

So a collosal SC deals 6d6, would this increase to 8d6 at collosal+? Or does it stay at 6d6? Next at C++ will the chain deal 10d6 or 12d6? xXDHXx

Purely a DM's call. Some say that Colossal damage is the max. Others maintain that since Colossal+ has been established, it warrants a damage increase, but say that it's the max. Others just keep adding pluses and allowing damage increases. To calculate damage beyond Colossal, the rule is ×2 for every two size increases. So 8d6 for C+ (which is double of Gargantuan), 12d6 for C++, 16d6 for C+++, and so on. —Sledged (talk) 22:37, 8 October 2011 (MDT)

Used for disarming[edit]

Attempting a disarm with any weapon (without the improved disarm feat) provokes an attack of opportunity but if the target is 10 feet away and cannot normally reach you, does that prevent the attack of opportunity?

Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!


admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors