SRD Talk:Power Critical

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Clarification Please[edit]

I'm sorry, but I don't quite understand. Does this mean the critical range goes from 19-20 to 15-20? Or does this effectively adds 4 to your die roll for attack, not attack, therefore allowing you to get a better chance to critical? Burunduk 11:31, 17 March 2007 (MDT)

I'll just explain the whole thing in general because it is probably easier that way. Suppose you have a chance of 17 or higher of hitting a monster, and you are using a weapon with a 16-20 critical range. When you roll to attack, you will miss on a 16 and not do a critical hit. If you roll a 17 or higher, you hit and threaten a critical hit. You then make a second attack roll to confirm whether the hit was critical or not. This ability adds +4 to that confirmation roll. In summary, if you have a 17+ chance of hitting, and a 16-20 critical range, you have a 17+ of hitting and a 13+ of confirming a critical. --Aarnott 11:37, 17 March 2007 (MDT)
Oh! Thank you! I wasn't familiar with this part of the rules - probably because I've never met enemies that were this hard to hit. Or perhaps because our DM doesn't know this rule. :D Burunduk 11:04, 20 March 2007 (MDT)
Yes, the end result is that you have a better chance to confirm a critical (versus to score a threat). For reference, here are the rules for critical hits. —Sledged (talk) 11:37, 20 March 2007 (MDT)

Stacking, yay or nay?[edit]

In CRB there is a Feat called "Critical Focus". What this does is allows you to use Critical Feats, such as Critical [Bleed] or Critical [Staggering]. What this essentially does is creates additional damage or effects when you confirm a Critical. Critical Focus itself also grants a +4 to confirming a Critical.

Neither Critical Focus nor Power Critical state that the +4 bonuses do not stack with similar effects, yet neither explicitly state that they do either.

So, what should it be? Should CF and PC stack, for +8 to confirming a Critical because they don't say that they can't, or should they not stack because it doesn't state explicitly that they can?

As I understand the rules they should stack. They're both unnamed bonuses from difference sources. Not only that, but the description of Power Critical says it can be take multiple times with the same weapon and the confirmation bonus stacks. —Sledged (talk) 10:18, 12 December 2013 (MST)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!