SRD Talk:Perfect Two-Weapon Fighting
From D&D Wiki
Judging by the wording of the feat, it seems that it provides an offhand attack for every attack made by the primary hand. does this mean that it allows an offhand attack for "extra" attacks in the round, such as an offhand rapid shot, or offhand haste attack? it seems so, since it is not specifically limited to extra attaks from base attack. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by FreeHands (talk • contribs) . Please sign your posts.
- No. You get extra attacks with the same Base Attack Bonus. Rapid shot does not add another BAB attack, it just grants you an additional attack on top of what you get from BAB. JazzMan 17:32, 30 December 2010 (MST)
- I disagree. the feat description never states that the extra attacks are ONLY from base attack bonus. it says that an offhand attack can be made for each primary hand attack, at the same base attack bonus. a rapid shot is made at full base attack bonus. if a rapid shot or other extra attack is made with the primary hand, then there should be an offhand attack to match it. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by FreeHands (talk • contribs) . Please sign your posts.
- It says you make your extra attacks "using the same base attack bonus". When you use rapid shot your base attack bonus is, for example, +20/+15/+10/+5. Rapid shot grants you an extra attack "at your highest base attack bonus", it doesn't change your BAB to +18/+18/+13/+8/+5. I looked in the official FAQ, but this is how I would interpret it.
- Another reason I believe you only get 8 attacks is from the context of the feat. With two-weapon fighting you get 2 attacks; with improved you have 4 and greater gets you 6. It doesn't make sense to me that you would get more than 8 with PTWF, at least not without it being explicitly stated. The only thing I see in your favor, though, is that while TWF etc. state the number of attacks you get, PTWF doesn't explicitely state that you only get 4 attacks, and I can't think of a situation where you would get more than 4 base attacks. So who knows; I just know in my game you would only get 8 attacks :) JazzMan 22:21, 4 January 2011 (MST)
The more I look at this feat, the more I realize how horrible this feat is. It grants one extra attack at a −15 penalty (in addition to the attack penalties for two-weapon fighting) and limits Str bonus damage to 1/2. To add insult to injury, it can only be taken at 21st+ level and has a 25 Dex prerequisite. —Sledged (talk) 15:36, 28 August 2007 (MDT)