SRD Talk:Paladin's Mount

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

DMG vs SRD[edit]

It seems that there is an aspect that is missing here. DMG page 204 discusses many other options for a Paladin's Mount. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 67.100.124.44 (talkcontribs)23:08, 20 December 2007 (MST). Please sign your posts.

Not all of the DMG is SRD, so we cannot have all of it here. If it where, lots of people would not get the core rules and just use the SRD. --Sam Kay 03:36, 21 December 2007 (MST)
Correct. This information does not appear in the SRD. WotC withheld this information from the Open Document License. Thus, that information is not here.--Dmilewski 09:28, 21 December 2007 (MST)
Is there anywhere we can get a link for this DMG page 204 since I don't see it anywhere and am in favor of non-horse mounts (I mean, whos ever heard of horse willingly going underground)? Zau 14:14, 16 April 2008 (MDT)
The Lord of the Rings, book 3, the paths of the dead. --Sam Kay 07:02, 9 June 2008 (MDT)

The Mounts' Leveling[edit]

Okay, answer this. A paladin gets to level 5 and gets his Mount. This particular Mount starts out with 8 HD, and gets +2 HD for it being a paladin mount. Anyway, once the paladin gets his mount, he multi-classes and becomes a rogue for 1 level to meet the needs of becoming a Shadowbane Inquisitor (in Complete Adventurer), and gains 4 more levels in that class. Hypothetically. Anyway, the Mount gains HD in all this, correct? Making his total HD 13 (for it being what it is) and + 2 (or coincidentally im guessing actually +6) because it's a paladin's mount, because it never really mentions anywhere that the mount can gain HD like his paladin master. Am I right? --Penske 19:44, 15 February 2008 (MST)

The first column's header says "Paladin Level" so the mount's advancement is determined only by the number of paladin levels the character has. One notable exception is that there are PrCs that stack with paladin levels to determine the mounts ability such as the cavalier (Complete Warrior). So the paladin 5/rogue 1/shadowbane inquisitor 4 character's mount will be the same as it was when he was just a paladin 5, and will not advance any further until he has 8 levels of paladin. —Sledged (talk) 19:51, 16 February 2008 (MST)
does the mount actually gain levels as it gets extra hit dice? i use a scorpion as my mount and want to give it the multiattack feat. also does it count as a celestial creature? Zau 18:13, 12 April 2008 (MDT)
For the most part, it gains animal levels (even though it's a magical beast) in the same way an ogre starts with four giant levels. It therefore gains all the benefits of level increases except for ability score increases which are replaced with what's given in the table. So it gains feats at every third HD, 2 + Int modifier skill points at each level, BAB increases, and BSB increases. —Sledged (talk) 21:10, 12 April 2008 (MDT)
If you want a scorpion mount, you might be better of taking levels in Spider Rider, and have a scorpion instead of a spider. --Sam Kay 03:06, 13 April 2008 (MDT)
thanks for the help, but i like the scorpion better. Zau 04:58, 13 April 2008 (MDT)
I said "and have a scorpion instead of a spider". see adaptation --Sam Kay 09:56, 13 April 2008 (MDT)
Oh sorry, but i already made the paladin, so ill stick with him. Zau 10:00, 13 April 2008 (MDT)
Why not take levels in spider rider later (or should I say scorpion rider?)? Then you could ask your DM if you could apply the paladin's mount benefits to the scorpion mount, to get an uber mount. --Sam Kay 10:02, 13 April 2008 (MDT)
Isn't th Spider/scorpion rider homebrew? my group is a bit anal a bout that kind of thing. Zau 03:39, 9 June 2008 (MDT)
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system ref. documents


admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors