SRD Talk:Movement, Position, and Distance
From D&D Wiki
Changes from the Original SRD
- Special Movement rules
- Movement Modes (from Types, Subtypes, and Special Abilities)
Help me out here
"A creature with greater than normal natural reach usually gets an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it. (This attack of opportunity is not provoked if you take a 5-foot step.)"
The rules make it seem like you only provoke an attack of opportunity if you leave a monster's threat area. Am I missing something? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 184.108.40.206 (talk • contribs) 2011-01-04 01:52. Please sign your posts!
- Yes, if you go from 10' away to 5' away you're leaving one threatened square to enter another threatened square. Leaving the first threatened square is what triggers the attack of opportunity. —Sledged (talk) 11:17, 4 January 2011 (MST)
Charge; A forgotten Special Attack?
I see it's not listed, but honestly if something much smaller than me tried to Charge at me, it would barely hurt. Meanwhile, something much larger than me would deal a lot more damage. Think of it this way; A squirrel Charging at a person would be easily avoidable and taken care of (S -> M). A wolf Charging at a person would hurt like heck, but it's essentially normal for that size (M -> M). But a bear Charging a person would do some serious damage. (L -> M). So is it fair to assume that you gain a Size Modifier to Charges, even though it's not technically listed?
- A Charge increases a creatures chance of hitting compared to their normal attack. It doesn't change how much damage they deal. That a bear does more damage than a squirrel is already represented in their statblocks. Marasmusine (talk) 01:08, 3 July 2014 (MDT)
- Thanks. Makes sense. At work today I was realizing how lame of an example I was using. Should have gone with something like a ram and a rhino, but the point stands. I suppose their general Modifiers, such as Strength, make up for the lack that Charge represents. There was a fierce battle on other sites about certain Feats / Abilities which can be used during Charge, and I noticed nobody actually represented Charge itself, so I thought I'd ask.