SRD Talk:Animal Type

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Animals as Companions?[edit]

can we use an animal as a companion?

You mean... and Animal Companion? Yes. Yes, you can. -Valentine the Rogue 19:15, 14 January 2009 (MST)

can any class take one or is it only for druids?

and

can a druid or any class use every kind of animal? --Tipttt 10:15, 15 January 2009 (MST)

Rangers also get animal companions. Other classes can use the skill Handle Animal. However, the rules don't work well for handle animal. It is so hard to make effective that most people never bother with it. --Dmilewski 18:34, 15 January 2009 (MST)

Problem[edit]

Major typo on the line explaining saves → Rith (talk) 08:20, 27 January 2009 (MST)

Fixed (Can't believe I never noticed that before).--Ganteka 10:27, 27 January 2009 (MST)

Suggestion - Add Size[edit]

It would be very useful for druids to know what size these aminals are from this page. I would do it, but the page is locked. Opses0 09:12, 16 August 2009 (MDT)

1. We don't modify the SRD except to correct mistakes.
2. Click on the animal. Badda bing badda boom.
-- Jota 11:21, 16 August 2009 (MDT)
You could also create a non-SRD page. --Dmilewski 18:49, 16 August 2009 (MDT)

Animal type/intelligence[edit]

Any idea where I can find published rules concerning the definition of an animal type or magical beast and at what point they cease to be either of those? Some in my gaming group think it is completely reasonable to cast Charm Animal on my 11 Intelligence Griffon character who also has the capability of speech. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by FluffyGryphon (talkcontribs) 2010-01-22 09:59. Please sign your posts!

On the Animal Type page under Traits:
Intelligence score of 1 or 2 (no creature with an Intelligence score of 3 or higher can be an animal).
It's pretty cut and dry what is not an animal. As far as determining what exactly it is depends on the creature itself. Since you're talking about a griffon, it's entry explicitly states it is a magical beast. Barring extenuating circumstances, you can't cast charm animal on a magical beast. (Well, you can, but it won't have any effect.) Extenuating circumstances include (but are not limited to) using baleful polymorph on a creature, so that it becomes an animal, having a special ability that allows charm animal to be extended to magical beasts, and the DM house-ruling that magical beasts are subject to the spell's effect.
If you want other sources there's the d20srd.org's entry, there's the back of the v3.5 Monster Manual, there's the Types, Subtypes, and Special Abilities RTF of the SRD hosted on WotC's website, and there's the v3.5 D&D glossary also on WotC's website. —Sledged (talk) 16:37, 22 January 2010 (UTC)

Animals and.. animals?[edit]

In this list, the first entry, 'animals', leads to http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Animal. This page appears to be the exact same one as this, except with less detail on the animal treats and features. One of these two must surely be deleted? --SgtLion 15:23, 7 March 2010 (UTC)

The spell awaken is also linked on this page. Should spells affecting animals be listed here? --Suezotiger 15:49, 17 August 2010 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors