SRD Talk:Half-Celestial

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

what about half-celestials that become evil somehow? which abilities do they lose and which they retain? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Aldarion (talkcontribs) 2010-02-10 12:47. Please sign your posts!

The description fails to specify this answer. My suggestion (worth almost two cents): switch them to the half-infernal template should they turn evil. --Dmilewski 00:59, 12 February 2010 (UTC)
It's racially based, and as such, I would think it'd be entirely unaffected by alignment. While it probably wouldn't be beneficial to have Smite Evil and Protection from Evil abilities, if you are evil, I can't see it being unreasonable to retain them if you somehow manage to change alignments, especially since it's a racially applied template. Also, I just checked: It's a inherited template, so it has to be chosen at birth of the character, as I thought. It shouldn't change, ever, unless you can think of some extraordinary reason for it to do so. Also, please sign your posts! Jwguy 04:43, 12 February 2010 (UTC)
I'd say an evil creature can benefit from smite evil and protection from evil just as much as a good creature can; possibly even more so, since an evil creature is likely to associate with other evil creatures. And if the people with whom you associate are evil, exactly how far are you going to trust them not to back-stab you when it becomes their best interest to do so? If they're chaotic evil, they'll probably do just for the fun of it. —Sledged (talk) 11:50, 12 February 2010 (UTC)
Ah, you're correct. I meant to say "As much as" somewhere in there, but in practicality, you're likely accurate in how the application of those abilities would work for an evil character. ^^ Jwguy 04:36, 13 February 2010 (UTC)
In our game I gained half-celestial template as a reward for completing quest from my goddess and other players became vampires so it's kind of a strange game you know. I asked because I'm interested in what would happen if they turned me into vampire. Description for vampires says "Always evil" as we all know. So I guess it's up to DM to solve this problem? Aldarion 02:43, 17 February 2010 (UTC)
Well a half-celestial is "Always good" and a vampire is "Always evil" so I don't know what would happen there.. In short, it is always up to the DM to solve any problem, or make problems, or just simply do anything to your character. :) --Sabre070 02:08, 17 February 2010 (UTC)
First, the DM would have to house-rule that outsiders qualify for the vampire template, because by the standard rules, the template can only be applied to humanoids and monstrous humanoids. With conflicts such as alignment, I go by the rule, the last template applied takes precedent. —Sledged (talk) 03:58, 17 February 2010 (UTC)

HD-Based Abilities and Class Levels[edit]

It says Half-Celestials gain special abilities based on Hit Dice. Do class levels count as hit dice? What I mean is, would a character with this template gain more abilities when leveling up? -Dr. Seymour 12:27, 11 April 2012 (MDT)

HD from class levels count, so yes, more abilities as you level. —Sledged (talk) 12:45, 11 April 2012 (MDT)
Thanks. I was not certain and one of our PCs is half-celestial. -Dr. Seymour 13:01, 11 April 2012 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew, pages!
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors