Discussion:How many undead can you control?
From D&D Wiki
Summerscythe 11:58, 5 June 2008 (MDT)
So I thought I knew how many undead you can actually control, because animate dead says 4HD per caster level. But i was looking in the Libris Mortis and the spell ghoul gauntlets says you can control only 2HD per caster level. I've noticed similar contradictions like that in other places to. I'm working on a necromancer class and i need to know the accurate number. Can someone please help me?
Animate Dead 4 HD per caster level, no single undead with more than 2 HD per caster level
Desecrate raises the limitation from 2 max HD per Cleric Level to 4 HD per Cleric level
I know this isn't what the book says, but it's what it means(look it up in the SRD under Animate Dead)
Deathbound Domain Errata: Under the Domain's granted power, change the word "controlling" to "creating" so that the granted power reads as follows: "Your limit for creating undead animated with spells increases to three times your caster level instead of two times your caster level.
Now, none of these say double, they say increase, so that means that they do not stack. So, the limit for creating undead is 4x your caster level, the max hit dice of the created undead is 2x your caster level. If you take the Death- bound Domain, this increases to 3x, and if the undead are created in a Desecrate spell, the limit on the HID is raised to 4x Caster level. --Ganre 08:22, 6 June 2008 (MDT)
188.8.131.52 11:54, 15 April 2013 (MDT)
Taken from "http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Desecrate"
"Furthermore, anyone who casts animate dead within this area may create as many as double the normal amount of undead (that is, 4 HD per caster level rather than 2 HD per caster level)."
Desecrate would, infact, double the number of HD that can be created with a single casting of Animate Dead. A normal cleric can create 2 HD/lvl of undead per cast, desecrate doubles this limit to 4 HD. A cleric with the deathbound domain can create 3 HD/lvl of undead per cast, doubled to 6 HD/lvl with desecrate.
Mordred the dark (talk) 21:38, 14 October 2014 (MDT)
Here's a nasty necromancer trick. A vampire can control up to 2x it's HD in Vampires (by draining CON) and/or Spawn (death by negative levels). So if you were a high enough level evil cleric (min. level 16) you could command 2x 8 HD Vampires and each one of those could control a 16 HD Vampire who could control a 32 HD Vampire and on...and on...and on(assuming you could stack CON loss high enough to kill something that big.). Once you have a big enough scary guy BOTH of them (there were 2 to start) could control 2 more vampires of the same HD or 4 of half HD and on and on. Essentially as long as you protected yourself and the first few generations of vampires you could have an infinitely large army under your (mostly) direct control (lots of relaying orders). Just remember, when a Vampire dies truly the earlier it was in the generations the more wild Vampires will be loosed. Of course they bear little ill will towards your cause (they are evil) but, they may attempt to kill you to release their brethren.Mordred the dark (talk) 21:38, 14 October 2014 (MDT)