Talk:Boots of Engulfing Doom (3.5e Equipment)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Boots?[edit]

These are boots, right? Why does it say "dagger" at one point in the history section? Also, how is this supposed to happen: "If the wearer approaches a certain special spot (the GM gets to decide where), the wearer finds a region of rock impenetrable even with the power of this boots. Traveling upon this spherical area of a mile diameter" He has to hold his breath, right? Unless these grant a killer speed bonus, there is no way he can get to the right spot in half a breath (he has to come back, let's not forget). --Badger 04:48, 17 July 2010 (UTC)

Thank you for your response. I noticed the mistake and changed it back to "boots". Sorry about that. Also, I meant that the impenetrable area remains solid ground, so it is almost like encountering a giant block inside water while you are swimming. If the wearer finds this spot, he cannot enter it and will have to either turn back, glide around it, or rise to the surface. The wearer can travel on the surface towards the center of the area and then use its power, or travel on the surface and then dive towards the area to use the boot's power while submerged and holding breath. Sorry if this confused you, or if this is still confusing. --Kaden 00:39, 17 July 2010 (MDT)
And my last question was about speed. Is a character still moving at his base land speed? You have a number of rounds equal to 2x your Constitution score before you have to start making Constitution checks to avoid suffocation, which means the average player has about 2 or 3 minutes before dying. So if he's allowed to "run" underground, a human is going no more than (15 rounds*30ft*4x for running)1800 ft. --Badger 18:07, 17 July 2010 (UTC)
Sorry, I forgot to mention the speed of the wearer. I added the move speed while submerged in earth, which is the same as land speed or swim speed, which ever is faster. The wearer has to be aware of how long he can hold his breath, and must calculate how deep he can go before he has to start to head back to the surface. If the wearer encounters an underground cavern, he can take a breath there and then continue diving. When gliding into the earth, the boots has to be the one entering first, but as long as the feet is in the earth he has free maneuverability and can glide upside-down, so he can take a breath by popping his head from the ceiling. The part of his body that is out of the earth is subject to normal gravity, so if he emerges from the ceiling completely he will fall to the floor. --Kaden 14:39, 17 July 2010 (MDT)
Personal tools
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors