Talk:Alternate Strikes (3.5e Feat)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search


Umm... I'm pretty sure you can do this normally without the feat. AFAIK, when you use TWFing you gain 1 additional attack per round (or more with ITWF and GTWF) that must be with your off-hand, but your standard allotment of iterative attacks can be with either your main or off-hand weapon, your choice. Beyond that, I know in 3.5 you can arbitrarily choose round to round which hand is your main and which is your off-hand. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by (talkcontribs) 12:35, 16 February 2006. Please sign your posts!

You can. You just choose which weapon to use each time. What I don't know, tho, is whether the offhand penalty applies to your offhand attacks while holding the main weapon (but not using it); if you're sure of that, which page is it on, if you know? --Sig 14:47, 8 December 2006 (MST)
I think this is redundant (I'm not exactly sure, but I think this is how it works). If, for example, you are holding both a longsword and shortsword, this feat allows you to attack with either at your full attack bonus. However, you can do this normally; the penalties for two weapon fighting apply if you are trying to attack with both weapons, not if you are simply holding one and attacking with one (this would be no different than if you were holding a torch and attacking with a sword, or attacking with a knife and holding a mug, etc.). Thus, you don't need this feat to be able to attack with your off-hand weapon at your full attack bonus. --EldritchNumen 16:23, 9 December 2006 (MST)
So, how could this be changed to make it workable, or should it get deleted? --Green Dragon 18:25, 9 December 2006 (MST)
The conversation died out almost a year ago, and some schmuck (me) decided to froth it up again. I think that the intention of this feat is to allow you to attack with either weapon as your primary weapon without penalty by foregoing your "off-hand" attack. For example: A 7th level fighter has a BAB of +7/+2. With Two-Weapon Fighting and wielding a longsword and shortsword he can make three attacks in a round at +5/+0 (primary) and +5 (off-hand) (total of -2 to all attacks for light off-hand weapon). At any time, the fighter can forego his "off-hand" attack and attack either with the longsword at +7/+2 or with the shortsword at +7/+2. With this feat, the fighter could forego the "off-hand" attack and split the normal full-round attacks between the two weapons. For example, he could take a longsword attack at +7 and a shortsword attack at +2 (or vice-versa). The main benefit I see with this would be if the two weapons did different types of damage (slashing vs. piercing) or possibly had secondary effects (flaming vs. frost). So, that's my take on this. It is a neat concept, but possibly has limited usage. --Skwyd 12:33, 21 September 2007 (MDT)
After reading this feat again, I agree. I think, if it is possible, you should change the wording of this feat to make it more easily understood. --Green Dragon 23:01, 23 September 2007 (MDT)
Okay, there's my first attempt at rewording it. Any feedback on it? Is it more clear? Less? --Skwyd 10:46, 24 September 2007 (MDT)
Maybe you could add in something to make the benefit more easily seen... Something in the main description text. Just an idea. --Green Dragon 23:31, 27 September 2007 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors