SRD Talk:About Prestige Classes (Rules)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search


I've always had some questions about prestige classes and the three restricted core classes--monk, paladin, and samurai. All three are one-way classes, where if you leave the class for whatever reason, you can't return to it.

Some supplements make a note that certain prestige classes (i.e. the Drunken Master from Complete Warrior) allow such multi-classing (in this case, by monks). However, the same book mentions the Reaping Mauler, which mentions that paladins and monks both consider the class desirable (at least, somewhat), and it would fit in with a monk's abilities, but no mention of it is listed.

For the three restricted classes (my term), what exactly are the prestige-class multiclassing rules? I think the 3d edition rules said it was unrestricted, but I could be wrong, and 3.5's DMG says nothing. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Qaianna (talkcontribs) 00:00, 4 February 2007 (MST). Please sign your posts!

I've never heard of "restrictive" classes - Are they 3.5e or 3e? --Green Dragon 18:31, 4 February 2007 (MST)
Probably 3, since the only time I've heard of them is in the Icewind Dale games. I don't honestly know what to tell you, this is way out of my league.--Cypresslyshra 19:33, 4 February 2007 (MST)
This is both 3.0 and 3.5.
  1. Follow the general multiclassing rules unless...
  2. Follow the class multiclassing restrictions unless...
  3. Follow the prestige class exception which allows an exception to the above or...
  4. Follow the ability/widget/feat/etc which allows an exception.
Restrictions are not part of the general rules. You won't find answers there. You can only follow what the class says. What the class says is law unless there's something in another class or another ability which gives you an exception. --Dmilewski 20:27, 4 February 2007 (MST)
Dmilewski said everything I was going to say, except he did it with fewer words. And for reference to confirm the restriction in 3.5, the section on ex-monks says:
Like a member of any other class, a monk may be a multiclass character, but multiclass monks face a special restriction. A monk who gains a new class or (if already multiclass) raises another class by a level may never again raise her monk level, though she retains all her monk abilities.
The ex-paladins section says the same about paladins. —Sledged (talk) 21:08, 4 February 2007 (MST)
Has this answered your question? --Green Dragon 18:12, 5 February 2007 (MST)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors