Discussion:Can I Use 3.5e Content w/ 4e Rules?

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Can I Use 3.5e Content w/ 4e Rules?[edit] 02:18, December 1, 2008[edit]

I just want to know if I can take some 3.5e homebrew and stick it right into a game using 4e rules.

Sabre070 21:25, 30 November 2008 (MST)[edit]

No. I don't believe you can.

Sam Kay 10:13, 1 December 2008 (MST)[edit]

Generally you can't. There are a few exceptions; for example, the old 3rd edition rules for improved initiative are almost identical to the new 4th edition rules. However, it is possible to convert most things from 4th edition. The trick is to ignore the rules and concentrate on the concept. Then, take this concept and use it to construct 4th edition rules.

  Hooper   talk    contribs    email   10:16, 1 December 2008 (MST)[edit]

Also, what do you mean by homebrew? Certain aspects of the game are usuable in all editions without any alteration, such as homebrew Settings, Towns, Names, etc. Rule-specific things, such as combat related workings, are easilly convertable in the manner Sam Kay posted. All the roleplay-side of the game stuff shouldn't require any alterations.

Back to Main PageMeta PagesDiscussions

Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors