Fullblade, Variant (3.5e Equipment)

From D&D Wiki

(Redirected from Fullblade (3.5e Equipment))
Jump to: navigation, search
A Fullblade wielding warrior.
Fullblade, Variant
Exotic Two-Handed
Critical: 19-20/x2
Range Increment:
Type: Slashing
Hardness: 15
Size Cost1 Damage Weight1 hp
Fine * 1d6 * 1
Diminutive * 1d8 * 2
Tiny * 1d10 * 5
Small 60g 2d6 20 lb 10
Medium 60g 2d8 40 lb 20
Large 120g 3d8 80 lb 40
Huge * 4d8 * 80
Gargantuan * 6d8 * 160
Colossal * 8d8 * 320
  1. The SRD only gives a means to determine costs and weights of weapons for Large and Small versions based on the Medium weapons. Any other supplied values are the author's best determination.

Fullblade, Variant: A greatsword of such size and weight that it requires special knowledge and strength to wield correctly without causing harm to the user. It can be used only by Medium sized creature with two-hands and with an Exotic Weapon feat. In many cases this weapon is simply to large and clumsy to be of any use the wielder. Forged in very rare quantities because of the large cost of the metal that must be used in the creation of only one weapon. Surely it would just be easier to construct four longswords in the place of just one Fullblade. But, when a Minotaur Warrior asks for a big sword are you really gonna make him angry and say no? ...I didn't think so.

Fullblades are often custom weapons. They can come in any shape, size, material, or ornamental configuration. Prices vary by blacksmith. Of course, the Fullblade does require a Strength and Dexterity score of at least 18 to use properly. Any user with a Strength or Dexterity score of less than 18 takes a -6 penalty to all attack rolls.

While the 3.0 supplement this is based on is vague, it states the following: fullblade is 18 inches longer than a greatsword and is too large for a Medium-size creature to use with two hands without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. (Medium-size creatures cannot use a fullblade one-handed at all.) A Large creature could use the fullblade with one hand, but it would be assessed the standard –4 nonproficiency penalty on its attack rolls; Large creatures can use the fullblade in two hands as a martial weapon. A Large creature with the Exotic Weapon Proficiency (fullblade) feat can use the fullblade in one hand, but a Medium-size creature must use both hands even if it has the relevant feat. A fullblade is also called an ogre’s greatsword.

Campaign utilization notes: A DM might find this weapon concept confusing at first, seeing as though it's an exotic weapon that cannot be wielded unless trained. However, it's merit is you only need one feat to wield a weapon equivalent to a large bastard sword which takes 3 feats to use for the same result. Anyway, if the DM challenges your choice to use this weapon, the best explanation for it is that it is a unique weapon in that it's the largest blade built for a MEDIUM creature (as explained before), meaning IT IS MEANT FOR A MEDIUM CREATURE! Although Large and Huge creatures can wield a "Medium" fullblade without the feat; further conjecture to it's function is that its purpose is to be a weapon with the a grip suited for a medium creature but the biggest blade possible.


Back to Main Page3.5e HomebrewEquipmentWeapons

Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew, pages!
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors