Talk:Glaive of the Hellfire Warlock (3.5e Optimized Character Build)
From D&D Wiki
Problem with Munchkin-size me
Augmented Psionic Tattoos of Expansion cannot exist. From the XPH: "The manifester level of a psionic tattoo is the minimum level required to manifest the scribed power". --Aarnott 10:53, 14 July 2009 (MDT)
- That's kinda been a rule I've always ignored, kinda like the one in Complete Psionics that says that you can only have one astral construct at a time--after all, if potions can come in different caster levels, why can't Psionic Tattoos? Barring that, using psionic-magic transparency UMD would probably count as UPD, so you could easily use a Power Stone of augmented Expansion. --Ghostwheel 11:06, 14 July 2009 (MDT)
My Findish Codex II says that you get +2d6 of Hellfire blast each level of Hellfirewarlock and not +8d6 at first level. Mistake? or please let me know how you get a that much higher hellfire blast. --EvilShade 14:00, 25 April 2010 (CET)
Mistake in the Level Progression
The text for Hellfire Warlock in Fiendish Codex II says "+1 level of existing invoking class" it on the Hellfire Warlock Progression chart for all three levels.
So on this table Hellfire Warlock 1 should also be Warlock 7 and so on for the other two levels of Hellfire. This makes the 15th level Warlock 10 instead of Warlock 7 this makes the totals at level 20: (assuming you continue from 17 to 20 with warlock levels) Bloodline 3/ Warlock 15/ Hellfire Warlock 3/ Chameleon 2 or 23 levels total because Hellfire Warlock levels are effectively two levels. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 184.108.40.206 (talk • contribs) 22:32, 10 August 2010 (UTC). Please sign your posts!
- This makes no sense at all. Everyone knows the hellfire warlock adds to warlock, but only for invoking purposes. We don't say that an arcane build with a prestige class is a wizard 33 (7, really)/initiate of the sevenfold veil 7/abjurant champion 5/mindbender 1 (ignoring whether or not that's actually possible). I'm removing the needs balance template. -- Jota 14:57, 11 August 2010 (UTC)
Problems with skills
Making some math i just noticed that you don't meet the requirements to access the chameleon prestige class at character level 11... am i missing something? You just barely meet the requirements for Hellfire Warlock but when it comes to Chamaleon you miss lots of points... Assuming that your Int is 10 you just reach about 33 points when you need 44...
It's not just the skills themselves, it's the inability to actively fulfill them. Even though Hellfire warlock gives Disguise as a Class Skill, you still have Bluff as a Cross-Class Skill which means at the earliest you could take Chameleon is 17th level. Making the build as it stands to be broken and non-viable. However, you could simply dip two points into Fighter (or if your DM plays fast and loose with alignment restrictions, Paladin for lay on hands and Divine Grace, not to mention access to some of the paladin spells through the use of wand/scroll).