Talk:Drow (4e Creature)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Name[edit]

Are we sure this is allowed? Drow aren't in the 4e SRD. InaVegt 03:50, 28 May 2009 (MDT)

This isn't from the core rules- they are new stat blocks, therefore it is allowed. The rule is that we can't copy stuff directly from the books, but we can use names, etc, as per the free use clause... These are new drow stat blocks that we have created, not copied stat blocks from the books. --Sam Kay 03:56, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
4e doesn't allow direct copying anyway. The 4e SRD is a list of keywords you're allowed to use, though I'm not exactly sure on the legalese behind this all, which is why I asked. InaVegt 04:00, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
To clarify, you can use keywords ect, the layouts (for monsters, powers, etc), and names (such as beholder, as they can't prevent us using names due to free use), and you are allowed to base stuff on existing material. --Sam Kay 04:06, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
You mean fair use right? Not free use. ShadowyFigure 04:39, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
Same difference. --Sam Kay 05:23, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
The creatures reserved as product identity according to the OGL are the beholder, gauth, carrion crawler, tanar’ri, baatezu, displacer beast, githyanki, githzerai, mind flayer, illithid, umber hulk, and yuan-ti. However I do not know if that applies to 4e as well. --Green Dragon 11:52, 28 May 2009 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew, pages!
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors