Talk:Attune Staff (3.5e Variant Rule)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search


Does the deliver touch spells ability effectively require two rounds (cast spell then attack) or is the attack part of casting the spell? —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Evil DM Mk3 (talkcontribs) 06:21, 11 March 2006 (MST). Please sign your posts!


I like this a lot. Kudos. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Warforged (talkcontribs) 15:09, 12 December 2006 (MST). Please sign your posts!


While the theory behind it is interesting, the main problem is that it's not the most practical. Obtaining a wand for a cantrip is generally much easier than using the staff, so that part of it is limited in use. Compared to the abilities that the wizard gets with their link to their familiar, having a weaker link to the staff in the form of scrying is difficult. Wizards will almost always be using their spells to do damage instead of a smite, and their BAB is generally so low that even with a boosted attack roll, it probably won't hit, never mind having to take a feat to use it. I can't even tell what Empower Staff is supposed to do, since the only item creation feat that can be used on staves is Craft Magic Weapon, so on the whole, it would be better to take that than to use up a feat taking a more restrictive version of it. Eschew Materials also does the job of a couple of feats well to begin with, and having that risk in an item is a bit dangerous. The variant rules for Item Familiars already do a very good job for this type of thing, so I'd suggest taking a look at that as a possible alternative. This variant is interesting, but it would need a number of tweaks before it's at a good level. Ruduen 17:34, 27 March 2008 (MDT)

I agree, this really is to combat oriented for a wizard. What would you suggest be changed? Thoughts? --Green Dragon 00:16, 28 March 2008 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors