SRD Talk:Two-Weapon Defense

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Does this work with Shuriken?[edit]

I can't use this with two shuriken, right? X 10:42, 21 December 2007 (MST)X

I would say no, as they are not melee weapons, but thrown weapons. --Sam Kay 10:50, 21 December 2007 (MST)
Strictly speaking, it doesn't say you have to wield melee weapons, but I'd rule it to work like that anyway. Here's couple more questions: If I have two weapons, but only make a standard attack, do I get the shield bonus? What if my BAB is +8/+3, and I make my first attack with one hand, the second attack with other? Am I even considered two-weapon fighting (by the SRD's definition) at this point? If not, do I still get the shield bonus? —Sledged (talk) 12:54, 4 January 2008 (MST)
Further question, would an actual shield count, say with a longsword? Or would only the highest shield bonus apply? Pwnester 17:20, 17 March 2009 (MDT)
A shield (due to Shield Bash) is a melee weapon, but both the shield and this grant a Shield bonus, which does not stack. --TK-Squared 17:28, 17 March 2009 (MDT)
The only bonus I know of that actually does stack (besides untyped of course) is a dodge bonus to AC. --Aarnott 17:30, 17 March 2009 (MDT)
"Shield Bash Attacks: You can bash an opponent with a shield, using it as an off-hand weapon. See Table: Weapons for the damage dealt by a shield bash. Used this way, a shield is a martial bludgeoning weapon. For the purpose of penalties on attack rolls, treat a shield as a one-handed weapon. If you use your shield as a weapon, you lose its AC bonus until your next action (usually until the next round). An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right." in other words a shield used to bash is a shield and not a weapon until your next turn, therefore there is no stacking conflict. if one used a light shield to bash then they would still have a +1 shield AC when bashing, though a heavy shield would only be a +1 shield AC while bashing instead of a +2 shield AC.--jamoecw 00:22, 30 April 2010 (UTC)
Personal tools
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors