SRD Talk:Spell Opportunity

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Endless Chain[edit]

What happens if two creatures have this feat and one moves from right in front of the creature to diagonally from the creature? Since they still threaten each other's areas, the one that moved away would be able to use a touch spell against the first creature when it uses its spell. Would the two characters keep casting touch attack spells until they run out of spells or attacks of opportunity? Would all of the spells resolve at the same time or would the last spell resolve first and go down the line? This could also work if a bunch of spellcasters are in a circle. --Suezotiger 20:30, 17 August 2010 (MDT)

As it's written, the two casters would keep provoking each other until someone ran out of AoOs or touch spells. The spells would resolve in reverse order of when they were cast in the AoO chain. Imagine it with Improved Combat Reflexes. I've seen similar issues with Karmic Strike from Complete Warrior and Robilar's Gambit from PHBII. One solution is to house rule that a creature can only make one AoO in a chain of AoOs. —Sledged (talk) 11:42, 24 August 2010 (MDT)
Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew, pages!
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors