SRD Talk:Power Attack
From D&D Wiki
 Critical Hits Multiply Power Attack Damage?
Out of curousity, would the damage gained from Power Attack be multiplied on a critical hit? I cannot seem to find the answer anywhere.
- I think so. Sir Dinadan, 18:44, April 14, 2013
- According to the 3.0 FAQ, and mostly everything I have ever read or seen, yes, it is multiplied, and here's the rationales I can find as to why:
- 3.0 FAQ
- "It’s easiest to think of a confirmed critical hit as a number of hits equal to the weapon’s critical damage multiplier. The example character is using a greataxe, which has a critical multiplier of x3, so the damage for a confirmed critical is just like the damage for hitting the foe three times. The only damage that is not multiplied in this way is damage expressed in extra dice, such as for a rogue’s sneak attack."
- SRD, Combat
- "Multiplying Damage: Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results. Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage."
- "Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon’s normal damage are never multiplied."
- PG134, 3.5 PHB
- "For example, Krusk the half-orc barbarian has a Strength bonus of +3. That means he gets +3 bonus on damage rolls when using a longsword, a +4 bonus on damage when using a greataxe (two-handed), and a +1 bonus on damage when using a weapon in his off hand. His critical multiplier with a greataxe is x3, so if he scores a critical hit with that weapon, he would roll 1d12 +4 points of damage three times (the same as rolling 3d12+12)."
- In conclusion, Power Attack is a flat increase like a Strength modifier, and thus benefits from a critical hit, however, magical enhancements of a weapon, sneak attack damage, skirmish damage (any added dice damage) do not apply. I found a majority of this information on the EN World forums, which is supported by official documents (as listed above).