From D&D Wiki
Does a Dexterity below 10 provide a negative bonus (i.e. penalty) to AC? I'm guessing not, since then you would have a better AC when flat-footed. But I haven't been able to find an authoritative answer anywhere. Thanks. –Cúthalion (talk) 08:13, 5 July 2007 (MDT)
- Yes. Strange but true. --Dmilewski 10:45, 5 July 2007 (MDT)
- It's not that strange. Immobile objects are treated as having a 0 Dex in addition to a −2 AC penalty, so an unattended Medium object has an AC of 3. Also, being flat-footed only negates the bonus from Dex (a bonus is explicitly defined here and in the PHB glossary as a positive modifier—there's no such thing as a "negative bonus," only a negative modifier), so any penalty still applies.
- As for an authoritative answer, Dex says the following:
- You apply your character’s Dexterity modifier to:
- Armor Class (AC), provided that the character can react to the attack.
- And the rules for Armor Class say Your AC is equal to the following: 10 + armor bonus + shield bonus + Dexterity modifier + size modifier.
- —Sledged (talk) 20:43, 5 July 2007 (MDT)
- If you have a negative dex mod it applies to ac. also if you are denied your dex mod and have a negative, you still apply it. so an unarmored character with an 8 dex has 9 ac and a 9 flatfooted. --Name Violation 16:40, 18 November 2009 (MST)
- Fixed. Thanks.--Dmilewski 07:40, 5 February 2008 (MST)
Bonus to Damage?
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought Dexterity added a bonus to damage for projectile weapons? --Lord Mattos 15:28, 17 November 2009 (MST)
- Nope. Only attack. --Name Violation 16:05, 17 November 2009 (MST)