Horsebreaking Cleave (3.5e Feat)

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
512px-Searchtool.png The main contributor(s) of this page determined that this page should be reviewed. Reason: Newly Created


You can help D&D Wiki by reviewing this page. When this page has been reviewed so that this template is no longer applicable please remove this template. If you do not understand how to review this page please leave comments on this page's talk page before making any edits.
All pages needing to be reviewed


Horsebreaking Cleave [General, Fighter][edit]

You can cut through a horse and its rider in one stroke
Prerequisite: Power Attack, Cleave, Exotic Weapon Proficiency (Housebreaker), Weapon Focus (Horsebreaker), Strength 24, and Monkey Grip or Powerful Build, Horsebreaker Training
Benefit: When wielding a horsebreaker and facing an opponent on horseback (or any other mount), if you attack the mount instead of the rider and the attack is enough to kill the mount, you can immediately use Cleave to carry the attack through to the rider. This follows the same rules as Cleave, except that the rider is caught flat-footed due to the surprise of the mount being cut clean in half by the attack and any extra damage to the mount left after it reaches -10 HP is carried over and added to the damage dealt to the rider. You must declare that you are using Horsebreaking Cleave instead of regular Cleave before you roll the attack.
Normal: Even if the mount was killed in the initial attack and Cleave were used against the rider, the sword would not be considered to be cutting clean through the mount and the Cleave attack would resolve as normal.
Special: Fighters can take Horsebreaking Cleave as a one of their bonus feats.

Large Creatures do not need Monkey Grip or Powerful Build and can eliminate them as prerequisites.

Creatures of Huge size or larger do not need Monkey Grip, Powerful Build, or Horsebreaker Training.

The Strongarm Bracers can also substitute for either Monkey Grip of Powerful Build, but if they are somehow neutralized (by dispel magic, antimagic field, Mordenkainen’s Disjunction or the character is not wearing them for some reason), the character will lose access to the feat until he meets the prerequisites again (either putting back on or reactivating the Strongarm Bracers or taking Monkey Grip)



Back to Main Page3.5e HomebrewCharacter OptionsFeats Feats

Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew pages!
system reference documents
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors