Discussion:Can a Lycanthrope overcome its alignment restriction?

From D&D Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Can a Lycanthrope overcome its alignment restriction?[edit]

Ganteka 16:48, 14 August 2008 (MDT)[edit]

So, I got to thinkin'... and it occurred to me that pretty much everything in DnD always has an exception to the rule. Not all members of an evil race are evil. Not all members of a church share the alignment of their deity. So, why oh why is it that lycanthropes are always of a certain alignment (based on their lycanthropic animal type)? They aren't mindless, though they are cursed. It simply seems strange that there isn't a way to overcome the alignment restriction of the curse, for reasons of character development. So, can lycanthropes get around being ever only a single alignment?


Sir Milo Teabag 15:51, 16 August 2008 (MDT)[edit]

I don't think so, but any reasonable DM would houserule that they could. Alignment is the essence of how you want to play your character. Allowing a failed save to change that is like having your class or race changed. Perhaps you could invent some kind of wolfsbane potion thing that changes the alignment.

JayKay 11:39, 20 August 2008 (MDT)[edit]

Isn't there a class in the back of the complete Divine, or maybe Champion, what will allow a cursed Lycanthrope to utilize his/her new template without the loss of his/her previous alignment? I may be wrong...--JayKay 11:38, 20 August 2008 (MDT)


Back to Main Page3.5e HomebrewDiscussions

Personal tools
Home of user-generated,
homebrew, pages!
d20M
miscellaneous
admin area
Terms and Conditions for Non-Human Visitors